Canada Stamp - Red Fox 1988

I’m just getting used to the tools again. Remember, I was using brushes from the building supply for most of my projects, so the small pens, pencils, fine brushes were all either stashed or dusty. Very dusty. I spent a lovely evening testing 20 year old inks and watercolours, and they are mostly still perfectly beautiful! Of course I’ve had to go hunting for fresh tubes of gouache and a new travel paint set – I now have a little art bin full of potential. The most intriguing additions are my new waterbrushes, a tool completely foreign to me, but all the Urban Sketchers are using them. I’m obsessed with the Urban Sketchers… it all started with “An Illustrated Life”.  Danny Gregory led me to Roz Wound Up and now every day I discover a new sketcher’s images to explore. I love to look at their work and feel the inspiration flowing. I am itching to start my own Carnet de Voyage. So I am practicing, practicing trying to find my lovely line again on a scale I haven’t visited in a long time.

Very exciting.

Sketching on my upstairs deck

