Giorgione - St. Sebastion

The De Young Museum in San Francisco is absolutely nothing like what it used to be – I was shocked and amazed and so glad that my friends don’t take no for an answer. I was reluctant to do the long journey from Gilroy to the city, but the promise of being pushed around in a loaner wheelchair was too tempting to refuse. When would I get another chance to see Masters of Venice: Renaissance Painters of Passion and Power? Of course I couldn’t take any photos of the actual exhibit or I would risk some form of extreme Museum punishment and public embarrassment, so I had to take this Giorgione from a poster in the hallway. But I did purchase the catalog, and I have big plans for scans…. I have been inspired.

I have also seen Andy Goldsworthy’s “Faultline”, the best of many sculptures which are skillfully placed around the grounds. I chose not to muse on its obvious reference.

Then we lounged on the patio of the cafe, ate our pricey food and recuperated from Museum Fatigue. Italian Art requires espresso, and it did not disappoint.

We finished with breathtaking views of San Francisco from the observation deck. Such blue skies for a perfect arty day….

