… because thanks to eBay, I might have a new best friend.

Now, I have to say, the Grid has been very, very good to me. I can still remember when, as a kid, I read some how-to-draw book and discovered this magical way to get great, realistic detail – I was hooked. Over the years I used it sporadically, but at Cap College I began following the twin paths of large scale painting and Art History. Knowing that the Masters of the High Renaissance regularly used a gridding  method gave this simple trick much credence in my eyes, and I happily scaled up pretty much everything. I loved the prep, the nifty little proportion wheel, the long ruled lines, and the meditative time spent transferring the drawing. I had energy to burn.

Energy is now very precious, and the once casual process of preparing a canvas for painting seems like a very, big mountain to climb. Jenny helps me pull staples and get the board ready, my friend Jenica helps me stretch and prime and sand. But it is up to me to do the rest, and I have not had it in me to haul out the ruler. And not for lack of ideas, I have sketchbooks full.

Well, I was watching a program called “Raising Renee” on the Knowledge Network (remind me to finally contribute to that fine publicly funded channel!) when at the very end, there was a shot of the artist working on her painting using a …. projector! I do not know why it took me so long to consider it, but that program wasn’t even finished and I had eBay up and running.

Five days later, voila – a Vintage Super AG 100 arrives by Canada Post.

I am so excited, you would not believe. I made Jenny and the dog look at dozens of potential paintings. I really hope I like working this way… I’ll keep you posted….

Magic.

