P1030679adjblog

The first real weather of the season is rolling in. Colour? Gunmetal. Payne’s Grey. Ivory black. Smudged charcoal. And I feel a kind of a thrill. Long ago, at the beginning of my painting, I spent 2 years using only black and white paint. Like Georgia O’Keeffe, I later read. Greys? I have them…..

Contemporary bodies..

Medici chapel pose detailblog

P1030507blog

Art Historical re-imaginings… I can still hear my Art History professor Josephine Jungic (also my friend, so missed) saying – “oh, what have you done to Duccio??”.. with a smile…

Duccio_St. Therese3blog

More recent details made large, and a lesson learned – when you buy black paint, from anywhere, make sure you buy enough – black is never the same black. Ever.

Madonna dark faceblog

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jenny's Notteblog

I wish I knew where this painting was……….. a rare loss. I try to know where all my children of the soul have gone.

Giulianoblog

Is it my destiny to love this coast so much?

P1030680

All I know is, I don’t fear the grey. I think it is most subtle, silvery, deep. And full of potential. We need dark to understand light, as simple as that, and as complex.

P1030493adjblog

