Bootkamp SBS Jan 10 2015web

It is a funny thing, entirely unexpected, but I have become quite… attached.. to Sketchbook Skool.

Oh I knew when I joined it would be fun. And I hoped it would be inspiring, and challenging in a stress-free kind of way. I also wanted to hang with pro sketchers I have admired for a few years now, learn from them and peek into their sketchbooks. It has been all that – and much more.

Bootkamp launches today, a mash-up of classes put together into a concentrated schedule, just for those of us who have taken the previous three courses, and I have been waiting with all the impatience of a kid on Christmas Eve… who knew? I spent the most delicious evening working on the first assignment. Home alone, the fireplace on, implements gathered, sketchbook ready, hockey game on (ya we lost whatever) dinner simmering and a glass of wine… dive in. Three blissful hours later, I post. To the site first, then to the SBS facebook page. And the beeps start up. All the people that I only know by icons and comments start chiming in, commenting, saying hello… friends by shared passion for the pencil, pen, watercolour set – from all over the world. They welcome me back, and I them, curious to see what they will do.

My sweet little family sleeps while I play.

P1040141

Such a simple thing, a sketch, can comfort on a winter evening – and with a few keystrokes can reach around the world.

 

 

 

