Squash web

Even though my mind is moving toward Italy, I haven’t ignored this beautiful coast summer. I have spent pleasant hours on my pretty back deck, enjoying my flower filled pots and O’Keeffe inspired wall art.

Canson 394web

I  scooted to the Roberts Creek pier and had a fine 2 hours of sketching the copper roofed house across the creek.

Canson 393fullweb

But the best day of all was when instead of going up the lane back home,  I unexpectedly turned the shoprider down towards the lookout at the end of my road and started a sketch of the view. Suddenly, I heard a huge whooshing blow – a woman on the beach below started yelling “The Whale!! The Whale!!” so I peeled out to a more open point and there it was. Or at least there was the spray and a huge hump of a grey back, moving slowly, following the tide line toward Sechelt.

I could feel it – I’m sure.

Mesmerizing.

Magic.

Whale web

A great day indeed.

 

 

 

