Mokamboweb

So Max proclaimed, and it was true. Also true is what Julie said to me back in Florence just a couple of days before we left to go home. “Oh, you’ll be happy to get home, but about February, on a cold grim day, you will feel a deep unquenchable yearning in your soul for Italy.” OK, maybe those weren’t her exact words, but very nearly. So, in an effort to recapture some whisper of the flavour of that time, I have turned my eyes to coffee. Luckily, I have many, many pictures of it to choose from.

Moka arra blog

I dream of espresso, aromatic and sharp, but sweet. Sipped from thick, white porcelain cups. Even at the gas station, they would not serve a “To-go” coffee – Paolo brought it out in its perfect little cup with saucer and I drank it by the pump. It was all so delicious, every one.  But the best was in the piazza of Santo Spirito, or the Boring church as Max called it.

Santo web

P1020833

I see his point, but I could never find it boring to sit on steps which felt the feet of Michelangelo.

Max and Lisa

Max and Lisa

And I do long to go back……… I knew I would.

 

 

 

